New from Hipstamatic: Family Album

by Pu on July 15, 2011

Hipstamatic iPhoneHipstamatic 220 presents: Family Album – Share Your Adventures in Hipstaland.

Now you can create your own personalized albums and share them with friends and other Hipstamatic users. As soon as your prints are developed, you can select the “Send to Family Album” option to share them via this new feature.

There are three types of available albums that you can choose from:

  • Shared Album‘s purpose is making it easier to share and have instant access to Hipstaprints of your friends and contacts. For example, you can create more shared albums to share content with different people.
  • In Photo Album you can collect Hipstaprints you like: they can be your own, your friends’ and other Hipstamatic users’ as well.
  • Magic Album can contain all sort of content, relating to people, things and places.

For each album type, you can set a name, add tags and specify other details, like a defined period of time  and shooting location, so that you can keep track of everything and have your shared prints or prints you like neatly organized.

Through the main Family Album screen, you can browse all your shared prints, together with featured albums and latest uploads. Albums you create can be deleted at any time, while prints you have shared are not deleted with albums.

Hipstamatic Family Album

Set up your Family Album in Hipstamatic.

Lastly, you can now upload your prints to Twitter, Facebook and Tumblr at the same time.

D July 15, 2011 at 10:17 pm

>>Albums you create can be deleted at any time, while prints you have shared are not deleted with albums.

How delete shared prints ?? – Help 😉

Reply

Pu July 15, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Hi D,

that’s actually a good question. I would say you cannot delete prints once you have shared/uploaded them via Hipstamatic, but of course I am not 100% sure. In any case, if there is a way, developers concealed it quite well. I will research it further and let you know if I find a way.

Reply

Pu July 16, 2011 at 12:20 am

Hi again D,

given the fact you are forced to choose a Creative Commons license at the moment of the sharing, I assume you cannot unshare the photo once it’s released to the public domain — hence the absence of a “delete” feature for shared photos.

Reply

Gregorio July 18, 2011 at 6:43 pm

That’s so lame. 🙁 I wanted to test it and I’m stuck with doubles of photographs and it even seems creators of Hipstamatic have duplicate photos up on their albums.

Reply

Pu July 19, 2011 at 4:26 am

Well, yes,many users have the same problem with double photos and test posts that they cannot delete.

Reply

David July 20, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Privacy seems to be an issue… I don’t see a way to limit who views my photos- and I’ve seen some stuff that was in the “magic” albums that would be considered borderline offensive. So these are being pulled from the general public domain? and once you put yours in a ‘family album” (the name IS a bit misleading too), is it in the public domain forever?? Not sure this was so well thought-out…

Reply

Pu July 21, 2011 at 12:59 am

Hi David,

we have covered the issue on a recent post, which you will be able to read here: http://appotography.com/2011/07/21/hipstamatic-deleting-your-photos-from-family-albums/

Reply

Kevin July 22, 2011 at 9:19 pm

Deleting images from an album is a must for a person to do house cleaning especially uploading wrong images. We all make mistakes and we all like to keep a clean house for others to view. Removing images from an album for protection reasons is in my view of least concern. Come on Hopstamatic put some control in the hands of the end user.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: